please join me in helping give young people in burkina faso prospects for the future. i am very grateful!
warm regards,
bea petri

introduction

in november 2008, bea petri, commissioned by the famous swiss development organisation swisscontact, spent four weeks at the existing tailor’s workshop “nas mode” in ouagadougou, the capital of burkina faso. swisscontact is funded by the swiss economy and has been dedicated exclusively to imparting professional vocational knowledge in developing countries for over fifty years. swisscontact trainers work on a voluntary basis and are only compensated for travel and expenses. in this case, too, the goal was an intensive professional transfer of expertise in the areas of cosmetics and make-up for theatre, film and tv productions. burkina faso is considered the centre of african filmmaking, and ouagadougou hosts the biggest african film festival, fespaco, every two years.

burkina faso

burkina faso is one of the poorest countries in the world and lies on the southern edge of the sahel zone. almost 20 million residents are spread across this landlocked country, which is about seven times the size of switzerland. there is unemployment of over 70% and literacy levels are around 36%. export goods consist of handicrafts and very modest agricultural products such as cotton, butter and peanuts. gold is also mined under dreadful conditions, but the earnings primarily benefit foreign companies that have secured long-term claims, most of it through bribing.

training centre “nas mode”

the dedicated burkinabée safi ouattara diallo has been running a professional dressmaking school under the name “nas mode” since 2001. safi asked swisscontact for a professional person able to pass on and teach urgently needed cosmetic and mask technical know-how, as “nas mode” was also involved in film and theatre productions. demand led to bea petri being transferred by swisscontact to the then modest “nas mode” training centre.

training courses

safi ouattara diallo’s wish was for bea petri to provide training as a make-up artist in addition to tailor-made courses, training for budding beauticians as well as part-time training.

altes schulgebäude nas mode in ouagadougou

the existing venue and the enthusiasm of the headmistress safi ouattara diallo were at her disposal. the initial situation was very rudimentary and required a lot of patience and improvisation. the path to becoming a make-up artist would logically start off by training as a beautician, and it would be sensible to also include additional training as a hairdresser.

it quickly became clear that the existing space available for the new courses was too small. therefore, bea petri rented a structurally integrated neighbouring property from her own resources and renovated it on her first stay.

project selection

national television: after the first training course that bea petri taught, “nas mode” was able to offer the new competences to national television, among others. this client gladly made use of it and instead of paying wages – for which no money was available. They have been broadcasting regular advertising spots for the “nas mode” school since.

trampolin: “nas mode” has been offering its professional services to the local population in the city centre of ouagadougou since 2017. young graduates can make their training in the fields of cosmetics, coiffure and tailoring available and gain practical and entrepreneurial experience with their customers.

committed to sustainability

the project has the clear goal of providing young people with work and life prospects through providing a solid education. in this aspect, it differs from other aid programmes, which focus mostly on the humanitarian, medical and agricultural fields and are of an auxiliary rather than educational nature. for bea petri and safi ouattara diallo, learning a profession is the most important thing for young people, who can thus ensure their own future prospects.

the courses take care to ensure that, as far as possible, no dependencies on imports of energy or other raw materials are created. choosing environmentally friendly and local products is therefore a matter of course.

gender aspects

the training of women is a high priority in all sustainable projects in developing countries. it helps the female population to achieve a better position in society and makes use of the reliability and strong sense of responsibility of women for positive social development. we also support this training with information on social and health issues such as family planning, aids, circumcision, witch hunts, etc.

selection criteria for our graduates

since founding “nas mode”, we attach great importance to transparent and sound criteria for the allocation of training places and personally consider the seriousness and sincerity of each individual application. thanks to the training credits of the association that sponsors “nas mode”, talented young people without their own means can also be accepted.

success rate

around 80% of all graduates of “nas mode” courses carry on to work actively in their specialist fields. with this, we make a very high contribution to making meaningful life plans come true and to the widespread lack of prospects. last but not least, it is intended to contribute to combatting the extensive need to emigrate, which is primarily based on almost non-existent opportunities for personal development.

new training centre and long-term goal

in 2013, a new training centre with a completely new infrastructure was opened on the outskirts of ouagadougou. various occupation-specific studios, bedrooms, a canteen, a childcare facility, toilets and showers as well as a sports field and offices were made available on a beautiful, private terrain with potable water. thanks to this environment, 200 young people between the ages of 14 and 25 have found a beautiful and safe environment in which one of their desired occupations can be studied in peace and with concentration. about 70 pupils are funded by the “nas mode” funding association annually. the other students have the means to pay for their own training. our commitment from switzerland should continue to this extent and, in addition to the training places, also ensure the maintenance of the infrastructure.

i would like to express my heartfelt thanks also to the donors for the generous financial support with which we were able to build this extraordinary school. the beautiful building was constructed by the architect lasso ouattara, safi’s husband. we received an award from burkina faso for the quality of training and construction. all our professional attention is focused on assuring and developing our training standards – we want to remain a flagship school for the whole country.

project responsibility

with her reliability, her valuable network and her comprehensive, modern approach, safi ouattara diallo guarantees the success of any project. regular visits by bea petri to ouagadougou and visits by the school management to educational events in switzerland guarantee continuous development. the presence of safi ouattara diallo in switzerland also provides lenders with direct contact with the people in charge.

a festive africa soiree takes place in switzerland every year. at this event, we show what has been done with donations.

micro credit

in 2016, we started issuing repayable microcredits. however, we do not provide them in the form of money but with products and tools that allow the applicant to open their own studio or shop (see charlotte movie).

possible commitments

with chf 500/year, one year of education is financed – a three-year training programme costs chf 1’500.
with chf 1’500/year, additional costs and logistics can also be covered (training opportunity for foreigners).

of course, we are grateful for any amount and appreciate your generosity as well as the support.

how the funds are used

  • funds deposited go directly to the project without deductions
  • social events related to the project are funded separately
  • all association bodies work on a voluntary basis
  • travel expenses (flights, accommodation, meals) are borne by the persons involved or are financed separately

tax exemption for contributions

in accordance with article 60 et seq. zgb (swiss civil code), the non-profit “nas mode fashion association” is registered in schaffhausen. contributions to the association “nas mode” are tax-exempt.

auditors

andré ott
aros treuhand ag
8200 schaffhausen

mr andre ott audits the association’s account in a voluntary capacity.

concluding throughts from bea petri

the “nas mode” project is primarily due to my meeting with safi ouattara diallo. the one-month mission quickly showed me that a lasting impact can only be achieved through long-term commitment and heart and soul. the young women and men in this african country deserve our attention and support because they are ready to take their lives and their future into their own hands. however, they often lack the basic skills necessary to survive economically in a modern society. safi ouattara diallo has also shown me that positive development requires an enlightened attitude towards social issues.

i have committed myself to the people of ouagadougou, to accompany them on their way and to be involved. for that, i depend on the support of other circles that share my trust in a better future for young africans.

i thank you for your attention!

bea petri

the burkina faso ministry responsible has presented safi ouattara and bea petri with an award for their professional training concepts and for the high quality and functionality of the new infrastructure. we are very pleased and can assure you that your donation will support our organisation, which is known for its reliability and transparency. i am only able to keep this wonderful project going with your support.

Veuillez contribuer avec moi à offrir des perspectives d’avenir à la jeunesse du Burkina Faso. Je vous en suis d’avance très reconnaissante !
Bien cordialement,
Bea Petri

Introduction

En novembre 2008, Bea Petri a passé quatre semaines dans l’école de couturières « nas mode » de Ouagadougou, capitale du Burkina Faso, pour le compte de la célèbre organisation de développement suisse swisscontact. swisscontact est soutenue par l’économie suisse et se consacre depuis plus de 50 ans exclusivement à la transmission de connaissances et des qualifications professionnelles dans les pays en développement. Les intermédiaires professionnels de swisscontact sont bénévoles et sont dédommagés uniquement pour le trajet et leurs divers frais. L’objectif était ici de permettre une transmission intensive de savoir-faire professionnel dans les domaines de la cosmétique et du maquillage pour le théâtre, les productions cinématographiques et pour la télévision. Le Burkina Faso est considéré comme le centre du cinéma africain et Ouagadougou accueille tous les deux ans le plus grand festival de cinéma africain : Fespaco.

Burkina Faso

Le Burkina Faso compte parmi les pays les plus défavorisés au monde et se situe tout au sud du Sahel. Ce pays enclavé dans les terres compte environ 20 millions d’habitants sur une surface équivalente à sept fois la Suisse. Le taux de chômage dépasse les 70 % et le taux d’alphabétisation se situe autour de 36 % : les exportations incluent des objets artisanaux et une quantité très limitée de produits agricoles tels que du coton, du beurre de karité et des cacahouètes. Il existe également des exploitations travaillant dans des conditions déplorables mais leurs revenus appartiennent en général à des groupes étrangers qui payent en général des pots-de-vin pour s’assurer que des droits réservés à long terme sur les exploitations.

Centre de formation « nas mode »

« nas mode » est le nom qu’a donné une Burkinabée engagée, Safi Ouattara Diallo, à son école professionnelle de couturières qu’elle dirige depuis 2001. Safi a demandé à swisscontact de lui envoyer un professionnel qui pourrait enseigner afin de transmettre les connaissances urgemment nécessaires en matière de cosmétique et de maquillage, étant donné que « nas mode » était également engagé dans la production cinématographique et théâtrale. La demande a conduit à la délégation par swisscontact de Bea Petri au centre de formation, alors encore modeste, de « nas mode ».

Programmes de formation

Le souhait de Safi Ouattara Diallo était que Bea Petri puisse dispenser une formation d’esthéticienne à l’aide de moyens simples, en plus des programmes pour les couturiers et couturières, ainsi qu’assurer une partie d’une formation supplémentaire de maquilleuse.

altes schulgebäude nas mode in ouagadougou

Elle a pour cela eu à sa disposition les locaux et l’enthousiasme de la directrice de l’école Safi Ouattara Diallo. La situation de départ était très rudimentaire et a requis une grande patience et une bonne capacité d‘improvisation. Le parcours pour devenir maquilleuse passait logiquement par une formation d‘esthéticienne et incluait bien sûr également le métier de coiffeuse.

Il a rapidement été clair que les locaux disponibles étaient trop restreints pour les nouveaux programmes de formation proposés. Bea Petri a donc loué à ses frais un immeuble avoisinant intégré par construction et l’a rénové au cours de son premier séjour.

Choix des projets

Télévision nationale : dès la fin du premier programme de formation dispensé par Bea Petri, « nas mode » a pu proposer ses compétences nouvellement acquises notamment à la télévision nationale. Cette dernière a bien accueilli l’offre et plutôt que de rémunérer les intervenants – aucun fonds n’était disponible pour cela – la télévision diffuse depuis régulièrement des spots publicitaires pour l’école « nas mode ».

Trampoline : « nas mode » propose ses prestations professionnelles à la population depuis 2017 dans un local du centre-ville de Ouagadougou. De jeunes étudiants peuvent mettre à disposition les compétences qu’ils ont apprises dans les domaines des soins de beauté, de la coiffure et de la couture et accumuler de l’expérience pratique et entrepreneuriale grâce aux clients.

Engagement pour la durabilité

Le projet s’oriente vers un objectif défini : fournir aux jeunes une formation solide leur permettant d’accéder à des perspectives de travail et de vie. Cet aspect se distingue des autres programmes d’aide qui sont majoritairement ancrés dans des domaines humanitaires, médicaux et agricoles et ont plus de caractéristiques de programmes d’aide que de formations. Pour Bea Petri et Safi Ouattara Diallo, l’apprentissage d’un métier est la priorité absolue pour les jeunes afin de leur offrir la perspective d’un avenir où ils seront autonomes.

Dans le cadre des programmes de formation, une attention toute particulière est accordée à ce que dans la mesure du possible, aucune situation de dépendance ne soit créée vis-à-vis d’énergies ou de matières premières importées. Le choix de produits écologiques et locaux va donc de soi.

Aspects de genre

La formation des femmes présente un caractère prioritaire dans tous les projets durables mis en place dans les pays en développement. Elle permet aux populations féminines d’accéder à une meilleure position dans la société et met à profit la fiabilité et le sens marqué des responsabilités des femmes à des fins de développement économique positif. Nous soutenons par ailleurs cet engagement par des prises de position relatives à des problématiques sociales et sanitaires, notamment au niveau de la planification familiale, du SIVA, de l’excision, de la chasse aux sorcières, etc.

Critères de sélection pour les étudiants

Depuis la création de « nas mode », nous accordons beaucoup d’importance au fait de définir des critères transparents et pertinents pour la sélection des étudiants en fonction des places disponibles et nous examinons personnellement le sérieux et l’honnêteté de chaque candidature. Grâce aux bons de formation de l’association « nas mode », il est également possible d’accepter des jeunes gens talentueux sans moyens.

Taux de réussite

Environ 80 % de tous les étudiants de « nas mode » travaillent par la suite dans leur domaine de spécialité. Nous offrons ainsi une remarquable contribution à la réalisation de projets de vie sensés et à la lutte contre la large absence de perspectives. Enfin, le projet doit également contribuer à combattre le large besoin d’émigrer reposant avant tout sur l’absence quasi-totale d’opportunités de développement personnel.

Nouveau centre de formation et objectif à long terme

En 2013, il a été possible d’ouvrir un nouveau centre de formation possédant une toute nouvelle infrastructure en bordure de Ouagadougou. Un grand terrain privé offrant un accès à l’eau potable, divers ateliers spécialisés selon le métier, des chambres pour dormir, une cantine, une crèche, des toilettes et des douches, un terrain de sport et des bureaux. 200 jeunes de 14 à 25 ans ont pu, grâce à ce cadre, trouver un environnement agréable, sûr et calme, propice à la concentration requise pour l’apprentissage du métier de leur choix. Environ 70 étudiantes voient chaque année leur formation financée par l’association « nas mode ». Les autres étudiantes disposent de moyens suffisants pour se financer elles-mêmes. Notre engagement en Suisse doit continuer dans cette direction et, en plus des places de formation, chercher à garantir également la conservation des infrastructures.

Je souhaite ici profiter de l’occasion de remercier nos donateurs pour leur généreux soutien financier nous ayant permis de construire cette école exceptionnelle. Le magnifique bâtiment a été conçu par l‘architecte Lasso Ouattara, qui est le mari de Safi. Le Burkina Faso nous a décerné une distinction pour la qualité des cours que nous dispensons ainsi que pour la construction de l’école. La sauvegarde et le développement continu de nos normes de formation reçoivent toute notre attention professionnelle – nous souhaitons rester une école exemplaire pour l’ensemble du pays.

Responsabilité du projet

Safi Ouattara Diallo garantit par sa fiabilité, son réseau de qualité et son approche complète et moderne un déroulement toujours réussi du projet. Grâce à des visites régulières de Bea Petri à Ouagadougou ainsi qu’à des visites de la directrice de l’école en Suisse à des fins de formation, un développement continu est assuré. La présence de Safi Ouattara Diallo en Suisse permet par ailleurs aux bailleurs de fonds d‘être en contact direct avec les responsables sur place.

Chaque année, nous organisons en Suisse une soirée festive sur le thème de l’Afrique et nous en profitons pour présenter ce que les dons ont permis de réaliser.

Microcrédit

En 2016, nous avons commencé à attribuer des microcrédits remboursables. Ces derniers ne sont cependant pas accordés sous la forme de moyens financiers mais de produits et d’outils qui permettent au requérant d’ouvrir sa propre boutique ou son propre atelier. (cf. film Charlotte)

Engagements possibles

500 CHF/an suffisent à financer une année scolaire – une formation en trois ans revient donc à 1 500 CHF
Avec 1 500 CHF/an, il est également possible de prendre en charge les frais d’alimentation et de logement (possibilité de formation pour les personnes venant de l’extérieur).

Nous sommes bien sûr reconnaissants quel que soit le montant et apprécions beaucoup votre générosité et votre soutien.

Utilisation des fonds

  • les montants versés sont directement consacrés au projet, sans aucun prélèvement intermédiaire
  • les rencontres organisées en lien avec le projet sont financées séparément
  • tous les organes de l’association travaillent bénévolement
  • les frais de voyage (vols, hébergement, repas) sont pris en charge par la personne concernée ou financés séparément.

Exonération fiscale pour les contributions financières

Conformément à l‘article 60 ff. du Code civil suisse, applicable à l’association caritative « förderverein nas mode », sise à Schaffhouse, les dons versés à l’association « nas mode » sont exonérés d’impôts.

Organisme de contrôle

André Ott
Aros Treuhand AG
8200 Schaffhouse

Le contrôle des comptes de l’association par M André Ott est bénévole.

Conclusions de Bea Petri

Le projet de l’association « nas mode » a largement découlé de ma rencontre avec Safi Ouattara Diallo. Ma mission d’un mois m’a rapidement montré qu’une efficacité durable ne pouvait âtre garantie que par un engagement à long terme et une véritable dévotion au projet. Les jeunes hommes et femmes de ce pays d’Afrique méritent notre attention et notre soutien, ils sont prêts à prendre eux-mêmes leur vie et leur avenir en mains. Toutefois, il leur manque souvent les connaissances professionnelles de base qui leur permettraient d’exister du point de vue économique dans une société. Safi Ouattara Diallo m’a par ailleurs montré par son engagement qu’une prise de position éclairée sur les questions de société est nécessaire pour parvenir à une évolution positive.

Je me suis engagée à accompagner les personnes de Ouagadougou au fil de leur parcours et à leur offrir ma contribution. C’est pourquoi je dépends du soutien d’autres milieux qui partageraient ma confiance dans un meilleur avenir pour la jeunesse africaine.

Merci beaucoup de votre attention !

Bea Petri

Dons

Le ministère compétent au Burkina Faso a décerné à Safi Ouattara et Bea Petri une distinction pour leurs concepts de formation professionnelle et pour la grande qualité et la fonctionnalité de leurs nouvelles infrastructures. Nous en sommes ravis et pouvons vous garantir que vos dons contribueront à soutenir notre organisation, reconnue pour son sérieux et sa transparence. Seul votre soutien nous permet de continuer à faire progresser ce formidable projet.